The Strategist tagged me with the 123 blogger meme. The rules are pretty simple:

  • look up page 123 in the nearest book around you;
  • find the fifth sentence;
  • post the three sentences that follow; and
  • tag five people.

I had two books within equidistant easy reach when I read the post. I checked Poisoned Wells, but page 123 was about what happened to political opposition in Equatorial Guinea, and I did not wish to dwell on it. So here are 3 sentences from page 123 of Blood and Oil, not exactly good news, but worth noting:

But to stay productive, they will need investment, and lots of it. Massive amounts of capital are also the key to exploiting new and undeveloped reserves. According to a recent study by the International Energy Agency, the world community will need to invest $3 trillion over the next thirty years to raise global oil production to a level adequate to meet worldwide demand in 2030.

I’m not going to tag anyone, some of my friends might take it amiss. If you read this, and want to give it a go, please do, consider yourself tagged. It is an entertaining diversion.